Tornados Win Third Consecutive Cycling National Championship

Brevard College students walking past bell tower

For the third consecutive season, the Brevard College cycling team is the Division II national champions.

The Tornados won the title at the 2014 USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships after one of the most dominant performances in recent memory at the event, notching eight individual national championships and a title in the team relay.

Cypress Gorry and Alison Arensman were Brevard’s most impressive performers, finishing with identical results. Both won national titles in the short track and cross country disciplines and were on Brevard’s winning relay team, along with Sarah Hill and Zachary Valdez. Gorry and Valdez’s lap times in the relay event were the fastest among any competitors, including those at the Division I level. Valdez was also the third-place finisher in the cross country race.

Walker Shaw also finished with three individual titles, finishing first in the downhill, dual slalom, and omnium events. Shaw, Logan Mulally, and Callum McEwen swept the top three positions in the downhill race, while the same trio finished 1-3-5 in the dual slalom.

Sarah Hill had an impressive weekend as well. In addition to her place on the title-winning relay team, Hill won the individual omnium title had runner-up finishes in the short track, cross country, downhill, and dual slalom events. Samantha Miranda turned in third place performances in the downhill and dual slalom races to help the Tornados to their title.

Visit the official site of Brevard College athletics to learn more.